RSS

Finally!

07 Aug

Right now I am staying more in the jungle than I have been since being in Punta Gorda.  And this is how come I finally got to see them.  Oh I have heard them a few times, and I have heard them really well in the last couple of weeks but today, I saw them.  Just down the road is the eco-lodge called Hickatee Cottages where there is a troop of Howler Monkeys that have taken up residence.  It was these monkeys I heard today.  Loud to the left but to the right, further in the distance was the sound of another troop of monkeys.

Howler Monkeys are quite loud; they definitely produce more decibels than you might expect from something its size – they range in size from 22 to 36 inches with their tails being the same length.  Consider this – the sound from a single monkey can travel up to 3 miles (1 source I read said 30 miles but I find that hard to believe, however the Guinness Book of World Records has clearly recorded that the sound has been heard at 20 miles away) so they are quite noisy creatures and are apparently the loudest land animal.

So you can imagine the sounds that this troop that lives in the jungle out behind Punta Gorda town have been making.  I wanted to capture it for you so I took my blackberry out and did a voice note recording of it.  As I can’t post mp3 files here on the blog I will post the video on my business facebook page – http://www.facebook.com/BelizePropertyCenterSouth.Black Howler Monkey

Thanks to Ian at Hickatee Cottages for allowing me to use his photographs.  His are much better than what I saw today.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 7, 2012 in Flora and Fauna

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
