RSS

Ernesto Is Coming?

06 Aug

Ernesto – According to NOAA – (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) – Ernesto, up until today, has been classified as a tropical storm – TS Ernesto.  Today NOAA upgraded its status to that of a hurricane. It is moving very slowly towards the Bay of Honduras, which is the indented area between Belize, Guatemala and Honduras.  So far the trajectory doesn’t take it across Punta Gorda but that could change as it gets closer.  Projected landfall is Wednesday morning.

Hurricane Ernesto

Punta Gorda is in the section coloured by light pink (and for those of you who know me, are you surprised?) So the question is – what am I going to do about it?  As we all know, Mother Nature is going to do what Mother Nature is going to do, however I am going to prepare for what Mother Nature has coming my way.  To the best of my abilities, that is.

First, I am going to make sure I am able to eat for a few days just in case I can’t get to town because of flooding.  (Oh, at the time of this writing I am house-sitting for a friend and I am a bit towards the back of town down a dirt road)

I am going to make a couple of batches of tortillas.  These are good with peanut butter and banana rolled up and are healthy and filling.  I am also going to make some oatmeal raisin cookies.  I just have to have my sweets.  I will make sure I have several large bottles of water available, frozen even so that I have relatively fresh water for a couple of days, just in case the water supply is affected.  And I will make sure I have enough fruit and vegetables available that I can eat raw.

Second, I am going to do what I can to ensure I have communications for as long as possible.  From this point forward until after Ernesto does its worst, my electronic devices are going to be plugged in whenever possible.  My blackberry will be my connection to the outside world and I sure hope that BTL – Belize Telemedia Limited – has redundancy built into its systems, both here in P.G. and in Belize City.  Otherwise, all my planning here will be for naught.  My Kobo is also going to be charged as much as possible.  This handy little book reader can go for several weeks on one charge but of course that is entirely dependent upon how often I read something.  If there is no electricity for a few days, this little electronic book reader will become my new best friend.  And who knows, no electricity?  I might be forced to clean!

Still on with communications, the electrical outlets in the house are about 15 inches off the floor and the floor is about 18 – 20 inches off the ground so there would have to be a lot of water outside before I see it coming inside but to better ensure the integrity of my electronics, all adapters are going to be lifted off the floor – I don’t want them shorting out so that I can’t use the devices after the storm passes.

Extendible Flashlight Open

This is all I can think of for now that I can do to prepare.  Food, drink, communications – 3 key elements in my life.

Oh, and thanks to darling hubby I have 2 LED flashlights that can be used as room light as well.

Once before have I felt the effects of a hurricane and those effects were from 2,000 miles away.  A few years ago a hurricane went up alongside Nova Scotia on the eastern coast of Canada.  Winds and rain in southern Ontario were attributed to that hurricane.  I didn’t think anything of it at the time but this time it is different; it’s a lot closer.

I just hope the house stays together.  Fortunately there aren’t many trees directly around the house.  Imagine house-sitting for somebody and they come back to find it gone or damaged!?!?

I know there are tips out on the internet for hurricane preparedness – what to do, what to get ready etc., but are there things that I should or could be thinking of that wouldn’t make it to the top 10 list?  Things that would have made the time just a little less unsure, or scary?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 6, 2012 in Miscellaneous

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Ernesto Is Coming?

  1. Wendy Miller

    August 7, 2012 at 9:47 am

    Well, it looks like Ernesto is going to miss Punta Gorda. We aren’t even in the zone where winds are slightly predicted. Right now we just have some unsettled weather but nothing to worry about. Thank goodness.

     

Leave a Reply

 
