RSS

Critter,Critter, Critter and Critter

21 Jul

Another week has gone by and while it hasn’t been the most exciting week as far as activities it has been an interesting one overall especially with regards to critters.

Critter 1 – Last weekend while out with friends driving down a back road an individual walked by and told us that he had flicked a snake into the bushes.  So we got closer to the spot and I just had to see the snake so one of my friends reached into the bush with his machete and pulled the snake out of the bushes.  Held up on the tip of the machete the snake was close to 6 feet long.  I’m not sure what kind it was, I thought fer-de-lance but maybe not.  Further research showed to me that fer-de-lance are brown but I also learned that they are other colours.  All I know for sure is that this was a snake and it was a dead one.

I took hold of the machete with the snake on the end and my nervousness transmitted down the blade causing the snake to twitch – and this made me think twice whether or not the thing was dead.    I sent pictures to my kids and both of them came back with ewww.  My daughter said she would be packing and heading back to Canada so quick.

a.k.a. - Tommy Goff

Critter 2 – The next exposure to a critter I had this past week was with a scorpion.  Only this time it was alive and it had decided to visit me in my apartment.  The scorpions here aren’t deadly but their stings do hurt.  I know of one woman who was stung in the face while sleeping by a scorpion and awoke to tell her tale.  So, I heard a bag rustling in the kitchen and when I turned to look I saw my little visitor.  After my initial surprise, because I really don’t know how it got inside, I got up to take a closer look.  These things can move quick, holy crow.  I lost sight of it for a few minutes which meant that I needed to take my appliances and dishes off the shelf under the counter so I could find it.  There wasn’t an option in my mind – I had to find it before I went to bed.  As I removed my appliances I saw that it had taken cover under my stand mixer so once it was uncovered it ran.  Did I say they can move quick?  I got my broom.  And I chased it down sweeping it from under the cabinet.  I pulled it out with the broom and gave it a couple of whacks.  Because the broom has soft bristles it took a couple of whacks to make sure that this critter wasn’t going to find its way to my bed.

Live Scorpion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dead Scorpion

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Critter 3 – Next time it was a moth that got into my apartment.  You know the phrase “Things are bigger in Texas”?  Well, Texans ain’t seen nothin’.  This moth had a wing span of 6″ across.  I wish I could have had something to put against it so you could judge for yourself but I figured if I put anything near it that it would just fly away so you will need to take my word for it that it was this big.  It was quite beautiful as well, with its dark colours and patterns across the wings.  I have no idea what kind of moth it is so can’t share that with you.  This one got into my apartment and since I didn’t want it flying around I had to get it out so out came the trusty broom.  I spent the next 15 minutes trying to shoo it out the apartment.  You know how these things flit about so trying to keep a straight track on getting it out the door was quite funny.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Critter 4 – This critter was just a funny scenario.  Some of the frogs here have suction cups on their feet.  I have seen them stuck to the side of the house and most recently, one was stuck on the side of the truck.  My Canadian friend was a bit squeamish about the frog as she was driving me back to my apartment and it was on the driver’s side of the vehicle.  She managed to get it off the side of the truck but it ended up on top.  While driving she was afraid to put the window down for fear it would jump through the window but the evening warmth won her over and the window was put down a bit.  We got into town and had to make a stop at a store so while there my friend asked one of the guys to get the frog off the truck.  Well, it turns out, this guy was also squeamish with frogs. It was pretty funny watching him try to get this thing off the truck, (remember it has suction cups) – he would poke at it and pull his hand back quickly as if the critter was going to get him.  It was a comical few minutes.

Frog Catching a Ride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And for those of you who really know me – yes I found a place that has pink walls!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2012 in Flora and Fauna

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Critter,Critter, Critter and Critter

  1. millerro

    July 22, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Nice, the frog looked harmless….I do enjoy reading your blogs!!

     
  2. Carmen

    July 22, 2012 at 4:19 pm

    We saw the very same kind of moth at our house on Caye Caulker. It is really big, as you say. I thought the little blue dots were pretty in the otherwise dull brown color.
    The snake and scorpion stories are really creepy!

     
    • Wendy Miller

      July 22, 2012 at 4:24 pm

      Hi Carmen, let’s just say that knowledge of what is in the environment is definitely a necessity here in Belize. And it could have been worse – the snake could have been alive! I am not sure I would have made light about that.
      Thanks for reading my blog and having a say. What sort of creatures have you come across on Caye Caulker?

       

Leave a Reply

 
