RSS

A Trip Home

28 Jun

It has been a couple of weeks since my last writing and it has been a busy couple of weeks.  I went back to Canada for a visit for 8 days, so prior to the trip I had work that needed to be done in preparation for my absence.  Of course I planned on spending time working while I was back but that didn’t happen.

The vacation itself was enjoyable as I was able to see my family and I got to spend some definite quality time with my granddaughter, a.k.a. Baby Doll.

The trip home was a day from you know where.  Up at 5 to catch the local plane from Punta Gorda at 6:15.  No 2 hours ahead here, thank goodness.  But my shower head had blown a gasket the day before so it shot water all over the place.  I had to take time to clean it up but I knew I would be coming back to a clean apartment :-).

My stomach was really bothering me and just got worse as the day went on.  I met a lovely couple from Canada who were just finishing up their honeymoon in Placencia so we spent our waiting time together.  The plane getting into Belize was 30 minutes late, so it left Belize 30 minutes late.  Sometimes this isn’t a big deal, but when you only have an hour at the connecting terminal to make the connecting flight and you have to go through customs, well an hour isn’t long enough.  And it wasn’t for me.  The flight left without me.  Apparently they paged me but I didn’t even hear the page.  I suspect I was still in line at customs when they paged.  So now I have to wait for an additional 3 hours, which I guess could have been worse.  But with a tummy that was causing me a lot of grief, it wasn’t a pleasant 3 hours.   And of course, customer service for the airline in Houston was not as helpful as I would have liked.  They liked to spout FAA rules at me.  Not what a disgruntled customer wants to hear…

So finally the next flight is ready to leave and I get back to Toronto at 11:28 p.m., 3 hours behind the original schedule.  I walk to the carousel to grab my luggage and the day just got worse.  Somebody, and right now I can’t even tell you who is responsible, put a huge hole through the top of my suitcase where the handle is.  The frame is also bent into a teepee shape.  So now I need to take additional time filing a claim with the customer service department of United.  Oh, by the way, this whole trip was on United.  I booked Continental but United took over Continental so United was it.  Definitely not my first choice.

Damaged luggage
Damaged luggage

Anyway, I file my claim with United customer service and was told to take my luggage to one of two locations where it will be assessed to determine if repair or replace was in order.  Neither location was acceptable to me as both were quite a ways away from where I was going to be.  I only had limited time back and most of the time was taken up with visiting and appointments so I didn’t really have time to run around at United’s whim.

Now I am back in Belize, since Monday, 1 full week after the incident happened with my luggage.  We are having trouble getting anybody to help us or to even answer the phone.  The run around, my gosh, you would almost think the company orchestrated it and instructed the staff to pass the buck.  It’s the airports’ responsibility, no it’s the airline’s responsibility, no this is the department for lost luggage, not damaged luggage, no I can’t transfer you to damaged luggage because our phones don’t work that way.    And finally today?  My husband is told that the lady I filed the claim with in the first place had the authority to issue a voucher to replace my luggage.  AARRRRGGGGHHHH!!!!  Can you say customer service – NOT!

But I am back in Belize, glad to be back here, love the scenery and the place.  It was warm back in Canada, almost as warm as here but I didn’t sweat nearly as much as I do here so I felt hotter.  It was good to see my family and I sure do wish they would decide to come and be here with me and my hubby but as that isn’t going to happen I have to make as much out of the visits as I can.  And there is always the internet and a web cam.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 28, 2012 in Miscellaneous

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
