RSS

My First Boat Trip in Belize

08 May

Yesterday I went out for my first boat trip since I have been in Belize.  The purpose was to look at properties that I either have listed or that clients want to see but I got much enjoyment out of the trip.  We were gone for about 2 hours out across the Caribbean Sea and up the Rio Grande, a major river in south Belize.  It had rained through the night and again in the morning so I wasn’t sure we were going to be able to go.  But about 8:30 in the morning the boat captain called me and let me know that we were still a go.

The above picture is the view of Punta Gorda as we were heading away from shore, towards our destination about 3 miles across the sea to another shoreline.

Riding to the Storm

At one point we thought we were going to get wet.  From a distance it looked like rain, but by the time we got there it cleared up and we were spared the drenching.

Birds Out Diving for Food

Some birds were keeping us company for a bit as they were diving for food.

View of First Property from Sea

After about 15 minutes or so of boating we came to the shoreline of the first property I needed to look at.  From the distance I could tell there was a bit of beach.  In the southern part of Belize there is little beach, although there is plenty of shoreline.  So to see this, I will say I was pleased.

Shoreline

Palm trees overhang the shoreline into the water.  I love this view and this is one of the things I love about being here in Belize.

Mouth of the Rio Grande

Next stop was up the Rio Grande.  This river snakes throughout southern Belize, twisting through the jungle like a snake.  Unfortunately, the pictures I took don’t really capture this but look at any aerial map for this river and you will see what I mean.  The scenery was spectacular going up this river.  The jungle crowded the river on both sides with a wide variety of trees and plants pushing through to the water’s edge.  Flowering trees, air orchids, mangrove stands, coconut, palm, and far more than I know the names of were evident on the shores.  We could hear the birds but not see a lot of them.

Crocodile Farm

I’m not sure if I included this in a previous blog post but this is where Victor (my sales assistant) and I saw 2 crocodiles in the water.  This used to be a crocodile farm and now it isn’t.  We were looking at the property to scout it out for prospective clients and we came across the creatures in the water.  One was further away and was swimming away but the second one was just off the edge of the dock with its eyes and part of its snout sticking out of the water.  We backed away from this spot and we were shaking in our boots all the way back to the main area of the property.

Fishing on the Rio Grande

We passed by this boat carrying 3 men who were out on the water fishing, enjoying the day.

River side of Belcampo Lodge

During the ride we came across this beautiful little haven with the cruising boat, and cabanas, and I learned that this was part of Belcampo Lodge.  Belcampo Lodge is up the hill from here and has a stunning view of the surrounding forest.

Heading Out the Mouth

After cruising the river for about 40 minutes or so we made our way back out to the sea.

Victor

Just had to get a picture of Victor in here, looking so serious.  But this guy knows the area.  And a trip out to a property listing without Victor would not be as productive.

After about 2 hours, the boat ride came to an end.  I can tell you, I loved it.  It reminded me again of why I wanted to be in a tropical area.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 8, 2012 in Flora and Fauna

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
