RSS

Hanging Out My Shingle

03 Mar

It’s Saturday, the end of a warm, breezy day.  After the frustration of working to get my work permit, I haven’t even begun the process of getting my social security card.  That will come in the next week.  No, this past week, after Monday’s high of finally achieving official employment status here in Belize, I just stopped thinking about the governmental requirements and started thinking about getting going with the actual work. 

Time to get business cards, signage, advertising – ready to open the new RE/MAX Belize Property Center South franchise here in Punta Gorda.  I have been waiting for this and now the time is upon me.  I am anxious to get moving.

Various people here have already heard that there was a new agent in town – believe it or not they have been stopping me in the street asking if I was the new RE/MAX agent.  I walk down the street and people stop me to tell me they have properties they want to list.  I have been into the banks to obtain mortgage information and while there I have been asked what the process is for listing.  It has been quite an interesting time, and on some days it is quite hard to believe this is happening, especially after working real estate back in Canada and how tough it can be to get going.  Listings are coming to me, almost out of the woodwork.

And this actually added to the frustration while waiting for my work permit – because as long as I didn’t have the official stamp in my passport I didn’t want to pass myself off as a working agent. I am now a working realtor instead of a holidaying one.

This area of Belize is about to undergo a transformation from being the last undeveloped area of the country to being the belle of the ball, so to speak.  Belize as a whole is becoming much more well-known to the world and the Toledo District is at the tail end of this recognition.  A few more years and this area will catch up.  Right now, it is still largely undeveloped, people are wanting the tourist traffic, they want people to come in and share this beautiful, wild area.

Over the coming weeks and months I am going to try to introduce you to the Belize that is Punta Gorda and the Toledo District.  It is not a tourist trap, we don’t have a lot of sandy beaches and it is still somewhat third worldish in appearance and maintenance.  But what it lacks in good roads, it more than makes up for in character of the people, heart of the people and love for their home area.   Life isn’t easy for a lot of the people but you can hear the pride in their words and voice when they talk about their home.  The introduction of tourism and the selling of property is one way that the local people can have easier lives.  The introduction of new businesses to the area through eco-development, eco-tourism, sustainable industry – these are all ways to make life easier for the local people of Toledo District, Belize.

In the meantime, I am going to do what I can to promote the area, the tell you about this area.  Yes, I am trying to entice you here.  I would love to be surrounded by other people who feel the same way I do about this area.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2012 in Starting to Work

 

Tags: , , , , ,

4 responses to “Hanging Out My Shingle

  1. I'd Rather Be In Iceland

    March 4, 2012 at 2:56 am

    Wow, I can’t imagine it – I was there about 20 years ago and it certainly wasn’t up and coming then!

     
    • Wendy Miller

      March 4, 2012 at 9:15 pm

      No, I am sure it wasn’t. A lot of time has gone by and there have been some major changes within the structure of the country, including independence. The world is a smaller place now and Belize is no longer hidden. I hope you come back someday and compare it now to what it was when you were here before. Would love to hear your thoughts on that.

       
  2. Hindupur Avinash

    March 4, 2012 at 11:12 am

    Am all too excited to read your next posts on life there at Belize!! I always wondered how people there would be.. being not very known to outside world to have tourists.. nor being a developed nation, perhaps just like Rural India? Would like to see if there are any similarities!
    And all the best for your work there Wendy 🙂

     
  3. Wendy Miller

    March 4, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    Thanks Hindupur. I appreciate the interest. As time goes on I also hope to have pictures of the native animals on my blog to introduce people to the beauty that is Belize.

     

Leave a Reply

 
